Next Meeting:

Friday 31st May, 8pm

Delving into Dung

St Leonard's Church, Watlington

 

Often overlooked and undervalued, dung beetles are actually key ecosystem engineers and offer huge benefits in the agricultural landscape

2024 Programme

Most of our meetings are open to all and free for members. Some may require booking and visitors will be asked for a contribution.

Date Title Speaker / Leader Venue / Location
Friday 26th January, 8pm

AGM: review, look forward, refreshments...

Multiple Speakers St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Friday 2nd February, 8pm Showing of two films by Nicola Shafer: about a Natural Flood Management project in the Evenlode catchment in Oxfordshire; and boosting curlew breeding success along the Upper Thames Nicola Shafer St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Friday 23rd February, 8pm Various local River Thame Conservation Trust and Chilterns Conservation Board projects Nick Marriner St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Friday 22nd March, 8pm (note: not last Friday) The wonder of moths - mothing with or without a moth trap Will Langdon St Leonard's Church, Watlington

Saturday 27th April,

10am

Local walk to experience the birds and other sights and sounds of spring, followed by optional lunch and social Member-led

Christmas Common

Friday 31st May, 8pm

Delving into Dung (all about dung beetles)

Sally-Ann Spence St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Saturday 29th June, 2pm

Visit to see a River Thame Conservation Trust project(s)

Hilary Phillips TBA

Friday 26th July, 8pm

Trees: past, present, future?

Richard Tenant-Eyles (Woodland Trust) St Leonard's Church, Watlington

Saturday 31st August, 8am

'Moth breakfast' (looking at moths caught overnight in a trap, as they are released)

Marc Botham

Aston Rowant Nature Reserve

Saturday 28th September, 2pm

Trip to Church Fram, Little Wittenham, to look at the Yellow Wagtail Project and their general approach to farming, which includes livestock

Sophie Cunningham Church Farm, Little Wittenham
Monday 14th October

Fungus Foray

Judy Webb Aston Rowant Nature Reserve
Friday 22nd November, 8pm (note: not last Friday) TBA TBA St Leonard's Church, Watlington

December

No Meeting

   

2023 Programme

Date Title Speaker / Leader Venue / Location
Friday 27th January 8pm

AGM & Annual Social

Multiple Speakers St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Friday 24th February 7.30pm Why You Should Love Wasps - an introduction to their enigmatic, weird and wonderful world Seirian Sumner St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Friday 31st March 7.30pm The Extraordinary Colour Variations of the Banded Snail - Cepaea Laurence Cook St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Saturday 29th April -pm  Visit to Withymead Nature Reserve A warden Near Goring
Saturday 27th May - 2.00 - 4.30pm Guided Tour of Babylon Plants - Nursery & Meadow Rick Bennett

Near Cuxham

Saturday 24th June time tba  

Walk to explore the wild flowers of Aston Rowant NNR

Dr Jonathan Mitchley Aston Rowant NNR
Saturday 29th July - 10:30am

Guided tour of Wittenham Woods SSSI

Robin Buxton Wittenham Woods 

Saturday 19th August 

time 3:00pm

Visit to Watlington Hill, followed by social at the Spire and Spoke

Matt Bond (NT Ranger) Watlington Hill

Friday 29th September 7.30pm 

**UPDATED**

Film night: a series of short films on real solutions to climate change, followed by discussion

WEG Committee

St Leonard's Church, Watlington

 Friday 27th October 7.30pm

The Plants and Ecology of Chalk Grassland

Dr Jonathan Mitchley St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Friday 24th November 7.30pm

Local Geology

Charlotte Moss and David Rushton St Leonard's Church, Watlington

December

No Meeting

   

2022 Programme

Date Title Speaker / Leader Venue / Location
Friday 28th January 8pm

AGM with Quiz

  via Zoom
Friday 25th February 8pm Why Wild Bees Matter Roselle Chapman via Zoom
Friday 11th March 8pm What Eggs Reveal About Avian Evolution and Behaviour Prof Cassie Stoddard via Zoom
Friday 25th March 8pm Track & Sign - the naturalist's forgotten skill Bob Cowley via Zoom
Late April 5 'Birds on your Doorstep' bird walks Mike Chadwick

Various local locations

Saturday 28th May tbc

'Flowers on your Doorstep' - walk

tbc Watlington
Saturday 25th June  

Bumble Bee ID Session

Roselle Chapman Watlington
Saturday 30th July

Ants etc.

Dr Tim King Aston Rowant NNR

 Saturday 27th August tbc

Nature Walk inc Pub Supper

 

Local location + The Spire & Spoke PH

 Friday 7th October 8pm

Chiltern Hillforts Project

Wendy Morrison St Leonard's Church, Watlington
Saturday 29th October

Track & Sign field session

Bob Cowley Location tbc

Friday 18th November 8pm

The Future of Farming

Harold Makant St Leonard's Church, Watlington
December

No Meeting

   

 

Print | Sitemap
Created with IONOS SE WebsiteBuilder